Jim

This may be as much sports reporting as you’ll ever see from me

In Fayetteville, N.C., Sports on November 19, 2007 at 9:16 pm

Congrats to the Rogue Rollergirls who won 104 – 68 over Columbia, S.C., on Sunday. At least, that’s what rollergirl Evergrace says.

***

I don’t claim to be much of a sports reporter.

When I was a cub in Raeford, I was the only newsroom peon on the little weekly there, the News-Journal — or, as it was fondly known, the Hoke Joke. I had the great fortune to drop in just when the high school baseball team was starting its run to the state championship. After my first visit to watch the team training (they were ranked nationally by USA Today in the preseason, as I recall), I vaulted a 4-foot fence between me and my car. My left foot made it over fine, but my right foot caught on the fence. My left foot hit the ground, dug in real good and I pivoted over it and plopped to the turf. I knew something was wrong when I looked down and saw my left foot bending around to look back at me.

It took a raised voice and some piquant French to get the attention of some kids who were watching practice from the bleachers. The coach had one of the team members drive me to the urgent care in the coach’s hatchback. Emergency surgery and some time on crutches put my foot back where it belonged. I was known as Broke Foot from then on to the baseball team.

Apart from that, I enjoyed going to the games and trying to figure out how to write gamers and getting quotes from the kids and such. I had no idea what I was doing and certainly was at no risk of being elevated to the bigs as a sports reporter.

***

So I really apprecate Evergrace letting me know the score. I hope more folks will do that, and I’ll cheerfully pass it on. There’s an awful lot of rec league, pool tournaments, roller derby, karate and middle school basketball going on out there, and we can’t even pretend to be able to send reporters out to cover all that. Maybe someone out there, for fun, will want to try his or her hand at a little sports reporting — on their kids’ team, on their bowling league, whatever.

Leave a Reply

